Mildura Summer Music FestivalMildura Wentworth Arts FestivalMildura Writers FestivalMildura Palimpsest BiennaleGALLERY


Judith Beveridge

Judith Beveridge is the current Philip Hodgins Memorial Medal judge. She has published six books of poetry, including Devadatta's Poems (Giramondo, 2014) and Hook and Eye: A Selection of Poems in the Braziller Series of Australian Poets (Braziller, USA, 2014). Her awards include the New South Wales Premier's Prize for Poetry, the Victorian Premier's Award for Poetry, the Queensland Premier's Poetry Prize, and, in 2005, the Philip Hodgins Memorial Medal for excellence in literature. At present, she teaches post-graduate poetry at Sydney University and serves as poetry editor for Meanjin.

Jason Porter

AS Patric

Jason Porter has an MFA in fiction from Hunter College where he studied with Peter Carey and Colum McCann. His first novel, Why Are You So Sad?, was published by Plume, and was shortlisted for the Paris Literary Prize. He lives in Brooklyn, NY with his girlfriend and their two untrainable mutts. 

Carrie Tiffany

Carrie Tiffany is the 2017 Mildura Writer in Residence. She was born in West Yorkshire and grew up in Western Australia. She spent her early twenties working as a park ranger in Central Australia and now lives in Melbourne and New Zealand where she works as an agricultural journalist and novelist.  Her first novel, Everyman’s Rules for Scientific Living, was the winner of the 2006 Western Australian Premier’s Fiction Prize and the Dobbie Award. Her second novel, Mateship with Birds (2012) was the winner of the 2013 Christina Stead Prize for Fiction and the inaugural Stella Prize.  Carrie’s short stories and essays have been widely published. In 2011 Carrie won the ABR Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Award and in 2012 she was shortlisted for the BBC International Short Story Prize.

Helen Garner

Helen Garner started out in 1977 as a novelist and since then has published ten books of fiction, essays, and long-form nonfiction.  Her most recent book is Everywhere I Look, a collection of essays. In 2016 she won a Windham-Campbell Award for her body of nonfiction writing.

Les Murray

Les Murray, the festival's patron, is Australia's most celebrated poet internationally: his work has been published in seventeen languages and has garnered numerous awards, including the T.S. Eliot Prize, the Queen's Gold Medal for Poetry, the Petrarch prize, the Mondello Prize, and the Christopher Brennan Award. In 1999, he was made an Honoary Fellow of the Australian Academy of the Humanities.

Stephen Edgar

Stephen Edgar’s most recent book is Transparencies (Black Pepper, 2017). His two previous books, Eldershaw and Exhibits of the Sun, were both shortlisted for the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards. He has received the Grace Leven Poetry Prize (2003), the Australian Book Review Poetry Prize (2005) and the Philip Hodgins Memorial Medal (2006). His website can be found at <>. He lives in Sydney.

Peter Boyle

Peter Boyle has published seven books of poetry, including Ghostspeaking (Vagabond, 2016), Towns in the Great Desert (Puncher and Wattman, 2013) and Apocrypha (Vagabond, 2009). His awards include the New South Wales Premier's Prize for Poetry, the Queensland Premier's Prize and the ACT Judith Wright award. He is also a translator of poetry from French and Spanish with six books of translation published, including Selected Poems by Olga Orozco, Marosa di Giorgio and Jorge Palma (Vagabond, 2017). He was awarded the New South Wales Premier's Prize for Literary Translation. After many years working as a teacher with TAFE, Peter is completing a Doctorate of Creative Arts at Western Sydney University.

A.S. Patric

A.S. Patric’s debut novel, Black Rock White City, is the winner of the 2016 Miles Franklin Literary Award. His second novel, Atlantic Black, will be published in October this year. He is also the author of Bruno Kramzer, a novella, and two collections of stories: Las Vegas for Vegans (shortlisted for the Steele Rudd Award in the 2013 Queensland Literary Awards) and The Rattler & other stories. In 2018 he will be publishing his third collection, The Butcherbird Stories.

Gail Jones

Gail Jones is an Australian academic and fiction writer, the author of two short-story collections and six novels, most recently, A Guide to Berlin  (2015). The seventh, Noah’s Time,  will appear early next year. Her fiction has won many awards in Australia and been short-listed for international awards, including the Dublin IMPAC and the French Prix Femina Etranger. Translated into sixteen languages, she has been the recipient of writing residencies in India, Ireland, Germany, France, the USA, China and Italy. She is currently working as Professor of Writing at Western Sydney University.

Natalie Harkin

Natalie Harkin is a Narungga woman from the Chester family in South Australia. She is an academic and activist-poet with an interest in the state's colonial archives and Aboriginal family records. Her words have been installed and projected in exhibitions comprising text-object-video projection, including with the Unbound Collective who she works and creates with. She has written with Overland, Southerly and Cordite, and her first poetry manuscript, Dirty Words, was published by Cordite Books in 2015.

Arts Mildura Branding and Website Development by Saunders Design Group